Ball Breakers

ballsNaples tennis friend George Morton was watching a doubles match in the City of Naples tournament and in a third set tie-breaker at match point, the returner missed the return but called a let due to a “broken ball.” They had some discussion, replayed the point, and the returners won it and the match; but was it the right call? Continue reading

The Third Ball

ballA reader question: “During a USTA singles match, my opponent wanted me to hold the third ball while she was serving. I refused, saying the balls should be on her side of the court while she was serving. She said she didn’t want the third ball on her side so put it on the “caddy” during her service game. She said there is no rule that says the balls have to be on the server’s side. What are your thoughts?” Continue reading